Menu
About Us
Jesus Barba

Jesus Barba
Principal

Mr. Barba is an El Paso native who grew up in the South side of El Paso and is a graduate from Maxine L. Silva Health Magnet High School.  He went on to receive his Bachelor's Degree from Texas Texas University and his Master's Degree from Concordia University Texas in Austin, Texas.  He began his career in education as a Bilingual Teacher in grades 2-5.  He went on to become a Math and Science Instructional Coach in Austin, Texas. Before coming to JDE, he served as an Assistant Principal in Austin ISD and Socorro ISD.  He is in his 4th year as Principal here at Jose H. Damian Elementary and is currently working on his Doctoral Degree at UTEP.

Jose H. Damian Elementary School
Jose H. Damian Elementary School (JDE) opened its doors to students in 1992.  The school sits in the middle of the vast farmland that makes up the Upper Valley.  JDE is named after a late Canutillo Independent School District Board of Trustees member who served a total of 25 years on the Board between 1973 and 2002.
  
JDE, as the campus is known, has a long tradition of being a center of excellence in learning with a huge focus on individualized instruction. The school consistently ranks among the highest performing elementary schools in the country. JDE is in its 2nd year of being a STEM Focused Elementary School and prides itself on its focus on intervention, acceleration and closing the achievement gap.  
JDE has begun closely working on building 7 STRENGTHS within each scholar to "OPEN A WORLD OF POSSIBLE" (Belonging, Curiosity, Friendship, Kindness, Confidence, Courage, and Hope).  Each strength is coupled with each with a Book of the Month.  Besides academics, JDE boasts top-notch music, extra-curricular programs, which includes winning the District Robotics Championship for two years running.  Its honors choir has performed and received awards in state and national music competitions.

 

 
 

Contact Us

Principal:




Jesus Barba
jbarba@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6803


Assistant Principal:



Robert Seeburg
rseeburg@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6804

Office Manager: 



Mary D. Garcia
mdgarcia@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6806


Attendance:


Lizeth Villasenor
mvillasenor@canutillo-isd.org 
 915.877.6808

Counselor:




Cynthia Arteaga
carteaga@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6826


Librarian:




Heather Parra
hparra@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6815


Parent Liaison:




Magdalena Rodriguez 
mrodriguez@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6811

At-Risk Teacher
(Monolingual):



Jessica Aramburu
jaramburu@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6807

At-Risk Teacher
(Bilingual):


Melissa Fernandez
mharder@canutillo-isd.org
915.877.6813


Phone:

915.877.6800

Fax: 

915.877.6819
Address:
6300 Strahan Road
El Paso,Texas 79932

Mailing Address:


PO Box 100
Canutillo, Texas 79835

School Start Time:
School End Time:

7:40 a.m.
3:15 p.m.

Office Hours:
7:15 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Grades:

Pre-K-5th

Mascot:

Firebirds

School Colors:

Navy Blue, Gray and White